First settled in 1842 Hurstbridge was originally known as Allwood, after the homestead built there, but was renamed in 1924 after Henry Hurst, who built the first log bridge across the Diamond Creek. Known as Hurst's Bridge until 1915, it became Hurst Bridge until about 1954, when it was simplified to one word. For many years the area was best known for its orchards, in fact in 1912 a rail line was extended to Hurstbridge to transport fruit to Melbourne. Further development of the town occurred in the Post-War years, and electricity was connected in 1957.
Serviced by regular passenger trains to and from the Melbourne CBD, and just a short drive from Diamond Creek, it boasts it own friendly village, and is within easy reach of Kinglake, Yarra Valley wineries and tourist attractions. Claimed by its residents as arguably the best kept secret in Melbourne, the area includes a diverse mix of farmers, artists, commuters and families of various ages and socio-economic persuasions among its population of around 3 500.
Hurstbridge holds the annual Wattle Festival each spring, and a farmer's market each month. Many of the locals describe living here as “a holiday at home”. With a primary school in Hurstbridge and excellent secondary school at nearby Diamond Creek, and homes ranging from the classic to the contemporary, farmlets, and acreage and it is is a great place to bring up children or even retire away from suburbs.